North American Neuromodulation Society
Contains 0 items
Subtotal: $0.00

NANS Awards

NANS Travel Awards

NANS will be sponsoring travel awards of up to $1,000 each to encourage participation by scientists, neurologists and advanced practice providers interested in neuromodulation at the Annual Meeting. NANS would specifically like to encourage applications from underrepresented medical students, residents, advanced practice providers, and early career physicians interested in neuromodulation. Applicants must be currently in training or must have completed training within the last 5 years and must be a current member of NANS. To apply, you will be required to submit 500 words or less on your background, what you feel you bring to NANS, and why this award would benefit you. Be on the look out for when applications open!


Krishna Kumar New Investigator Award

Krishna Kumar, MBBS MS FRCSC (1931-2014) was a pioneer of neuromodulation and a world-recognized leader in the neurosurgical treatment of pain. Dr. Kumar led seminal studies in deep brain stimulation for chronic pain and established the safety, efficacy, and cost-effectiveness of spinal cord stimulation. For five decades, he led a vibrant and highly recognized pain program in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada. The documentary, "Living with Pain" highlighted Dr. Kumar’s research efforts and the biography published in 2010, Reaching the Impossible: Dr. Krishna Kumar’s Story, chronicled his life. Dr. Kumar served as a NANS board member and was a frequent lecturer at NANS Annual Meetings.

The North American Neuromodulation Society established the Kumar New Investigator Award to encourage scientific work in neuromodulation. The award is given to honor the legacy of Dr. Krishna Kumar and is accompanied by a $5,000 grant, generously provided by Medtronic, Inc. The awardee presents his or her winning manuscript during one of the Plenary Sessions at the Annual Meeting. 

Sridevi V. Sarma, PhD – “On the Therapeutic Mechanisms of Deep Brain Stimulation for Parksinson’s Disease: Why High Frequency?”

Casey H. Halpern, MD – "Amelioration of Binge Eating by Nucleus Accumbens Deep Brain Stimulation in Mice Involves D2 Receptor Modulation"

Scott Lempka, PhD – “Computational Analysis of Kilohertz Frequency Spinal Cord Stimulation for Chronic Pain Management”

Dario J. Englot, MD PhD – “Altered Structural and Functional Connectivity of Brainstem Arousal Centers in Temporal Lobe Epilepsy”

Mallory L. Hacker, PhD – “Effects of Deep Brain Stimulation on Rest Tremor Progression in Early Stage Parkinson’s Disease”

Alik S. Widge, MD PhD – “Deep Brain Stimulation of the Internal Capsule Enhances Human Cognitive Control and Prefrontal Cortex Function”

Lee. E. Fisher, PhD  – “Sensory Restoration by Epidural Stimulation of the Lateral Spinal Cord in Upper-Limb Amputees.”

2022                                                                                                                                                                                                              Patrick Ganzer, PhD  – “Dynamic Detection and Reversal of Myocardial Ischemia Using an Artificially Intelligent Bioelectronic Medicine."

Lisa Stearns Award

Lisa Stearns, MD (1958-2020) was one of the world’s experts in interventional therapy for cancer pain, and the foremost one on intrathecal drug delivery systems for cancer pain.

The North American Neuromodulation Society and the Women in Neuromodulation (WIN®) established the Lisa Stearns Award to encourage clinical and scientific work in cancer pain interventional therapies and neuromodulation. 

Lifetime Achievement

The NANS Lifetime Achievement Award is intended to recognize an individual who has made significant and lasting contributions to the field of neuromodulation over the course of their career.

2002 – Prithvi Raj, MD; Gabor Racz MD
2006 – John Oakley, MD
2007 – Norman Shealy, MD PhD
2009 – Richard North, MD
2010 – Michael Stanton-Hicks, MD MBBS
2011 – Elliot Krames, MD
2012 – Bengt Linderoth, MD PhD; Joshua Prager, MD MS
2013 – Giancarlo Barolat, MD
2014 – Alim-Louis Benabid, MD PhD
2015 – Tony Yaksh, PhD
2018 – Robert Foreman, PhD
2019 – Peter Staats, MD MBA DABA ABIPP FIPP
2020 – Hunter Peckham, PhD                                                                                                                                                                    2021 - J. Thomas Mortimer, PhD

Distinguished Service

The NANS Distinguished Service Award is intended to recognize outstanding and dedicated service to the North American Neuromodulation Society. The award is presented to an individual who has advanced the mission of NANS in a significant and lasting way.

2005 – Sam J. Hassenbusch, MD
2011 – K. Dean Willis, MD
2013 – Robert Foreman, PhD
2014 – David Caraway, MD PhD
2017 – David Kloth, MD
2018 – Joshua Prager, MD MS
2019 – Richard North, MD
2020 – Jaimie M. Henderson, MD                                                                                                                                                              2021 - B. Todd Sitzman, MD


Save the date for the NANS 25th Annual Meeting! 


NANS Events   

  • Jan. 12-15, 2023

    NANS 26th Annual Meeting
    Caesar's Palace
    Las Vegas, NV


    Learn More

INS 15th World Congress

The International Neuromodulation Society 15th World Congress will be held in gorgeous Barcelona, Spain on May 21-26, 2022. Current INS members receive a discount on the Congress registration fees. Non-members who register at the full rate will receive  a year's membership in the INS and chapters. 

ins ad


Contains 0 items
Subtotal: $0.00