North American Neuromodulation Society

Board of Directors

Executive Committee


Salim Hayek, MD PhD


 Professor, Dept of Anesthesiology                             Case Western Reserve University                             Chief, Division of Pain Medicine                       University Hospitals, Cleveland Medical Center   Cleveland, OH

Stockholder in Neuros Medical - value less than $5000


Julie Pilitsis, MD PhD


Dean of The Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine
Florida Atlantic University
Boca Raton, FL

Grant support from Abbott, Nevro, Boston Scientific, Medtronic, NIH and FDA
Stockholder in Aim Medical Robotics and Karuna Labs


Corey Hunter, MD FIPP


Executive Director
Ainsworth Institute of Pain Management
New York, NY

Shareholder in Axonics, PainTEQ, Spine BioPharma, Nalu and Mainstay Medical
Consultant for Saluda, Flowonix and Jazz Pharmaceuticals
Funded research for Abbott, Vertiflex and Saluda


Kiran V. Patel, MD


Director of Neurosurgical Pain
Lenox Hill Hospital
New York, NY


Past President

Peter Konrad, MD PhD

Professor of Neurosurgery and Bioengineering
West Virgina University Medical Center
Morgantown, WV

Fiduciary Position – Neurotargeting LLC


Magdalena Anitescu, MD PhD


Professor of Anesthesia and Pain Medicine
University of Chicago
Chicago, IL


Bryan Hoelzer, MD

Pain Management Physician
Southwest Spine and Pain Center
Provo, UT

Consultant for Nevro and Medtronic


Nebojsa Nick Knezevic MD PhD


Vice Chairman for Research and Education
Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Management
Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center
Chicago, IL


Susan Moeschler, MD


Consultant for the Dept of Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN


Parag Patil MD PhD


Associate Professor
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI


Ahmed Raslan MD FAANS


Director of Epilepsy and Brain Mapping, and Director of Clinical Operations and Neuroscience
Portland, OR


Stephanie Vanterpool, MD MBA


Director of Comprehensive Pain Services
University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine
Knoxville, TN

Consultant for Boston Scientific, Nevro, and Pfizer
Funded research for Nevro

ION President

Richard North, MD


Professor of Neurosurgery, Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine (ret.)
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD

Royalties from Nuvectra and Abbott
Consultant for Nuvectra and Stimwave
Stockholder in Stimwave (spouse)

NANS – INS Liaison

Lawrence Poree, MD MPH PhD


Director of Neuromodulation
UCSF Medical Center
San Francisco, CA

Stock options in Nalu
Funded research for Abbott, Nalu and Saluda

Executive Director

Chris Welber, MBA


Board Resources

Access the NANS Board of Directors webpage. This page is filled with information exclusively posted for the NANS Board of Directors only. NANS login will be required.

Learn about the Institute of Neuromodulation

The Institute of Neuromodulation (ION) shall promote research and innovation to advance the field of Neuromodulation to improve health and quality of life for patients.

NANS Events   

  • Jan. 12-15, 2023

    NANS 26th Annual Meeting
    Caesar's Palace
    Las Vegas, NV


    Learn More

INS 15th World Congress

The International Neuromodulation Society 15th World Congress will be held in gorgeous Barcelona, Spain on May 21-26, 2022. Current INS members receive a discount on the Congress registration fees. Non-members who register at the full rate will receive  a year's membership in the INS and chapters. 

ins ad


Contains 0 items
Subtotal: $0.00

Contains 0 items
Subtotal: $0.00