North American Neuromodulation Society

Basic Science In Neuromodulation Committee

The Basic Science in Neuromodulation Committee will address the tenets of IoN’s vision. Co-chaired by Dr. Lawrence Poree and Dr. Robert Foreman , this committee has been tasked with providing a roadmap to direct basic science research to enhance our understanding of the mechanisms of the action of spinal cord and peripheral nerve stimulation (PNS) for the treatment of pain. The committee will provide a review of what is known and what is not known about the mechanisms of action for SCS and PNS stimulation for pain—and in addition, outline and prioritize scientific questions that will help both industry and governmental funding agencies ultimately improve neuromodulation outcomes for pain management. This committee has been divided into three groups to address their goals; these include the Anatomy/Molecular Group led by Dr. Julie Pilitsis, the Modeling Group led by Dr. Sri Sarma, and the Invitro/Invivo Physiology Group led by Dr. Jeff Ardell and Dr. Lawrence Schramm.

The points below highlight the charge that needs to be addressed by this committee:

  • Identify the problem
  • What makes a discovery meaningful in Neuromodulation?
  • Waveforms?
  • Methods?
  • Applications that define of how the discovery creates Neuromodulation therapy?
  • Define 2-3 fundamental non-clinical procedures with end-points that need to be defined to publish and release discoveries in Neuromodulation
  • Action Items:
  • Meet and develop a roadmap that includes animal anatomical and physiological studies as well as modeling work.
  • Suggest that a primary goal will be to define “pain” by which Neuromodulation devices provide therapy. Examples include using sensors, identifying behavior changes, using genetic testing, etc.

Robert Foreman, PhD (co-chair)
Lawrence Poree, MD PhD (co-chair)
Julie Pilitsis, MD PhD
Yun Guan, MD PhD
Jeff Ardell, PhD
Lawrence Schramm, PhD

Contains 0 items
Subtotal: $0.00

Upcoming Events

Contains 0 items
Subtotal: $0.00